Ramsey Swears In New Fire Chief

Annual ceremony welcomed officers of the borough's FD, Ambulance Corps, Rescue Squad and OEM

The men and women who will manage Ramsey's volunteer emergency services for 2013 were sworn in at a ceremony at the Ramsey Knights of Columbus Sunday.

A longtime borough resident and volunteer firefighter with over 40 years experience serving on both the Ramsey and Mahwah Fire Departments officially took the reins as the new Fire Chief in Ramsey at the ceremony.

New Chief Randy Sterbinsky, who is taking over for outgoing Chief Carl Held, said he is excited to take over the department he has served in for so long.

Being voted chief by his fellow firefighters “was a vote of support that I really appreciated,” Sterbinsky said. “And, I think the town is really proud of the professional way we always conduct ourselves and is supporting us. There are a lot of things I’m excited for this year.”

The FD is planning to get new fire trucks, updated gear, and computerizing its call data in 2013, Sterbinsky noted.

The 57-member department also welcomed Assistant Chief Greg Hewit and Deputy Chief Lou Warnet.

“Between the three of us, we have exactly 100 years serving in the fire department,” Sterbinsky said. “I think that’s pretty unique for a volunteer department.” The town also swore in captains, lieutenants, and other 2013 officers of the RFD.

During the ceremony Sunday, Mayor Chris Botta also swore in 2013 officers of the Ramsey Rescue Squad, Ambulance Corps, and Office of Emergency Management.

Botta thanked all of the borough's volunteers for their service to the community, saying that what they do "is what makes Ramsey our home."

The ceremony’s keynote speaker was Ramsey Police Captain Ray Bailey, who is recovering from injuries he sustained when a tree fell on him during Hurricane Sandy. Bailey thanked the emergency responders in the room for helping save his life that night.

After the tree fell, “I knew I was going to be alright because I knew you guys were coming,” Bailey said during his emotional speech. “I didn’t hear all the sirens and stuff. I heard your voices, and that’s what gave me the most comfort.”

Bailey also said the number of calls, cards, visits, gifts and other forms of outreach he’s received from the borough’s emergency responders since the accident has been overwhelming.

“It made me feel like a member of your family. And, that’s what we really are, a family.”

The new officers sworn in Sunday will serve for a one-year term in their new positions.

The officers sworn in are:

Fire Department

  • Chief Randall Sterbinsky
  • Assistant Chief Gregory Hewitt
  • Deputy Chief Louis Warnet
  • Captain Jonathon Krehel
  • Captain Brendan Sterbinsky
  • Lieutenant George Fosdick            
  • Lieutenant Jeffrey Saunders
  • Lieutenant Matt Mistretta
  • Lieutenant Doug Harvey           
  • Lieutenant Jeff Newman

RFD Administrative Officers:           

  • President David Stitz
  • Vice President Douglas Hymans
  • Treasurer Kerry Conklin
  • Secretary Laura Single
  • Financial Secretary Garry Tonnon                    
  • Trustee: Carl Held

Ramsey Rescue Squad 

  • Chief Brian Behrmann
  • Assistant Chief Joe Manfredonia
  • Deputy Chief Tom Zachman                                                           
  • Captain Zachary Schleisher
  • Captain Chris Rago
  • Lieutenant Thomas Carroll
  • Lieutenant Richard Van Der Wall
  • Lieutenant Eric Moritz
  • Lieutenant Chris Warnet                                                           

RRS Administrative Officers:           

  • President Rich Muser
  • Vice President Jackie Gerscht
  • Secretary Kelly Vriesema
  • Treasurer Joann Sanchez 
  • Trustee Robert Foster             
  • Trustee James Duffy                                               

Ramsey Ambulance Corps 

  • Chief Michael Migliaccio
  • Deputy Chief- Erik Bergsten
  • Captain Sean Matro
  • 1st Lieutenant Donald Evans III
  • 2nd Lieutenant Bryant Kuo                                      

RAC Administrative Officers           

  • President Laura Behrmann
  • Vice President Dierdre Duncan
  • Treasurer Tom Mansley
  • Recording Secretary Gabrielle Parra
  • Corresponding Secretary Richard Van DerWall           


  • Bruce Greenwood
  • Annette Young
  • Holly Walker
  • Colleen Gubala
  • Bonnie Fitzpatrick

Office of Emergency Management

  • Coordinator Ralph Venturini
  • Deputy Coord. Bruce Greenwood
  • Deputy Coord. Glen Karpovich
  • Deputy Coord. Sgt. Angelo LaManna

Submit your questions or news tips to jessica.mazzola@patch.com. And, remember to sign up for Ramsey Patch's daily newsletter, and get updates on Facebook and Twitter.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »